Matthew 10:34-36

Today’s crazy bible verse comes straight from the lips of Jesus himself.

“Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn ‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law— a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’” – Matthew 10:34-36

Jesus is saying that he didn’t come to bring peace to the world.  This is something most Christians do not understand.  Or Christians twist it to say that Jesus is here to bring people to heaven by showing them the truth of God.  Uh…sure.

The point here is that Jesus is not the loving character Christians think he is.  In order to follow Jesus, you must turn against your father, daughter, mother, etc.  What sort of message is this?  Apparently one that Christians follow as their way of life.  Me?  Forget it.  I’m not following a Jesus that tells me to turn against my family.  I’m always going stick with my loved ones.  If I have to turn against my family to make it to heaven, then forget it.  That’s a horrible life to live and not a heaven I want to be part of.

Leave a Reply

