Book Review – 2001: A Space Odyssey

My most recently read book was 2001:  A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke.  Being a science fiction and fantasy geek, I can’t believe I had never read this book before.  Blasphemy!!!  LOL!  🙂  Now, however, I’ve remedied that.  What a fantastic book!  Written in the late 1960s, it’s amazing how well Clarke did discussing/inventing advanced technology that we use to some extent today.  Sure, there are some pieces of technology in the book that aren’t used today and may never be used, but much of what is in the book is realistic.

This is a MUST read for any science lover out there.  It’s a great gift idea for your loved ones too!  Not sure what to get them?  Get them 2001:  A Space Odyssey.  If it isn’t already clear by now, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – 2001: A Space Odyssey

  1. Ever watch the movie? I find that the book makes more sense, which is interesting since I know a lot of people for whom things usually work the other way around. I love the technology in it, but even the book was hard to get through for me (and I have a BA in English), mainly because I never felt a connection with any of the characters so I didn’t really care what happened. I agree that the technology and the scientific speculation is brilliant, though. This is probably one of the best sci fi novels out there when it comes to the science.

    Like

Leave a Reply

