Leviticus 24:15-16

I’m beginning my discussion of Leviticus tomorrow so I thought it would be a good idea to use a verse from Leviticus for this week’s crazy Bible verse.  It’s far from the only crazy Bible verse in Leviticus!

“Say to the Israelites: ‘Anyone who curses their God will be held responsible; anyone who blasphemes the name of the Lord is to be put to death. The entire assembly must stone them. Whether foreigner or native-born, when they blaspheme the Name they are to be put to death.’” – Leviticus 24:15-16

Think about what this means.  It’s not just Atheists and believers in other gods who God is demanding being put to death.  It’s EVERYONE that uses the Lord’s name in vain.  How many of us, including the deeply religious, have shouted out “God Dammit!” after hitting ourselves with a hammer or stubbing a toe or biting the inside of our cheek while eating?  Personally I say “God Dammit” a lot, usually when something goes expectantly wrong.  According the Bible, I’m to be put to death.  Being an Atheist is just icing on the cake.  The words themselves are enough to justify my death according to God.

What makes this scary is that several countries in the world do put people to death if they are not true believers and following the law very strictly.  Or if they aren’t put to death, the law might be on the books, or the law might hand down as punishment lashings.  There are places in the world (e.g. Saudi Arabia, Bangladesh) where it is absolutely scary to be an Atheist.  These are countries I will NEVER visit unless their theocracies are overthrown and replaced with a secular government.

The Bible makes it clear.  To curse God is to prepare yourself for death.  If God was real, wouldn’t a loving God send a clear message to Atheists?  Wouldn’t a loving God want me to believe?  Make it clear to us.  Provide us with the direct evidence and we will gladly believe in you.  Oh, and to be clear on my end, the Bible is NOT clear proof of your existence.  The Bible is proof that God is an asshole.  Whoops!  Just got sentenced to death…again!  🙂

5 thoughts on “Leviticus 24:15-16

  1. Reading through the Old Testament, for the last time. Is what pushed on my journey from minister to atheist. Everything that upsets people about Islam is in the bible as well.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The building I held services out of was sold a few years ago. So I haven’t been in active ministry since. But I was very outspoken on my beliefs until about a year ago. And only fully accepted my non belief about 3 months ago. It is a fairly difficult thing to do. I lost a lot of friends. And have been bashed as “leading people astray”. But I am happier now. And I feel I am a better, more loving person.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for sharing that. It’s sad several friends ended their relationship with you based on a simple belief or lack thereof in a supreme being. When that happened to me, it made me realize they were never really friends in the first place. True friends would never do that. I’m glad you’re happier and living a better life. That’s the important thing. I look forward to the day, which I think will come sooner than many realize, when people as a whole stop making decisions based on religion.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

