Mom, Dad, I’m an Atheist: The Guide to Coming Out as a Non-believer by David G. McAfee

I recently finished reading “Mom, Dad, I’m an Atheist: The Guide to Coming Out as a Non-believer” by David G. McAfee.  David McAfee is a young atheist activist who has written a handful of atheist books.  He also has a very active presence on Twitter (@DavidGMcAfee).  I’m already out to family and friends and make no effort to hide my atheism.  Thus I’m not the intended audience for this book, but I still found it very interesting and beneficial.  It helped me better understand others who are in situations where they can’t come out or are having difficulty in coming out.

The book is no giant tome like a Richard Dawkins book, but it doesn’t need to be.  Not everyone can read through a Richard Dawkins book.  There’s a necessity for shorter, easier reads such as this one by David McAfee.

My only real complaint is the formatting of the Kindle version of this book.  There were places were several “!” were randomly added in incorrect places.  There were also many places where random sentences were bolded.  It was clear this was not the intention of the author.  Not sure what happened, but there needs to be some major editing done to clean up the Kindle version of the book.

Despite the formatting issues, this was a great book and I give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

