One Year Anniversary

Today marks the one year anniversary of starting my Critically Thinking Through the Bible blog!  I started with Genesis, moved to Job, then back to Genesis, finished Exodus, and am now working through Leviticus.  Slow moving, for sure, but I’ve covered every chapter in these books.  Along the way I added a crazy Bible verse once a week.  I’ve had fun doing this and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it as well.

I’ve run across a few Christians who offer up arguments, but they are few and far between.  Usually the greatest criticism comes from Atheists who argue it’s a waste of time to read the Bible.  Given the strong push by fundamentalists to do away with secularism in schools and local governments, I’ll never understand this argument.  We can’t stop the spread of religion by ignoring it.

I have no intentions of stopping this blog at this point, so you can expect more from me as I proceed through the Bible chapter by chapter.

8 thoughts on “One Year Anniversary

  1. Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary!

    For what it’s worth, I think if you feel there is a need to read the Bible and write a blog about that, that’s all the justification you need. It’s your blog, after all. Of course you are correct in saying that problems don’t go away by ignoring them so that’s another good reason to write your blog.

    I follow your blog because I enjoy your commentary and admire your willingness to plough through the entire Bible and offer your thoughts and objections. Keep it up!

    Like

  2. If you’re getting something out of it, then it’s definitely not a waste of time. Maybe it would be a waste of time for those other atheists, but, so what?

    I tried reading through the Bible and blogging about it, at one point. It was interesting, for a while, but I ended up blogging about other things and didn’t really keep up with it (or maybe it was just that I got too bogged down after I finished reading the entertaining but violent stories in Genesis, and got to the boring and/or disturbing listing of laws in Leviticus or so).

    Anyway, congratulations on your one year, and good luck with your blogging!

    Like

  3. Congrats on one year!
    Been reading for a while now and all I can say is keep on doing what you’re doing!

    I believe that breaking down the core of the problem will eventually solve the issue. Ignoring it will make it worse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

