Leviticus – Chapter 26: Reward for Obedience

In the last chapter of Leviticus we learned (again) that God supports slavery.  Leviticus 26 brings us the reward for obedience.  Reward?  Sweet!  Let’s find out what it is!

“If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands, I will send you rain in its season, and the ground will yield its crops and the trees their fruit.” – Leviticus 26:3-4

I guess that means that people living in drought or flood stricken regions of the planet are not obeying God’s commands.  If they were, they’d have the appropriate amount of rain, right?  Or science.  I’m going with science.

“I will grant peace in the land, and you will lie down and no one will make you afraid.” – Leviticus 26:6

So no one is obeying God?  There is conflict and fear in all lands.  God has apparently decided none of the lands are obeying to His standards for Him to removes the fear.

“I will walk among you and be your God, and you will be my people.” – Leviticus 26:12

Except God has NEVER shown himself to the Israelites, aside from Moses and possibly Aaron, so we are told.

“But if you will not listen to me and carry out all these commands, and if you reject my decrees and abhor my laws and fail to carry out all my commands and so violate my covenant, then I will do this to you: I will bring on you sudden terror, wasting diseases and fever that will destroy your sight and sap your strength. You will plant seed in vain, because your enemies will eat it. I will set my face against you so that you will be defeated by your enemies; those who hate you will rule over you, and you will flee even when no one is pursuing you.” – Leviticus 26:14-17

Given this happens every day on Earth, God must have decided humans did not obey.

“I will send wild animals against you, and they will rob you of your children, destroy your cattle and make you so few in number that your roads will be deserted.” – Leviticus 26:22

Ah, the loving God kills innocent children once again.

“You will eat the flesh of your sons and the flesh of your daughters.” – Leviticus 26:29

Who knew?  God likes zombies!!!  And once again sentences innocent children to death.

“But if they will confess their sins and the sins of their ancestors—their unfaithfulness and their hostility toward me, which made me hostile toward them so that I sent them into the land of their enemies—then when their uncircumcised hearts are humbled and they pay for their sin, I will remember my covenant with Jacob and my covenant with Isaac and my covenant with Abraham, and I will remember the land.” – Leviticus 26:40-42

Too bad this didn’t apply to Job.

Leviticus 26 is a 46 verse chapter.  The first 13 verses focus on the reward of obedience and the final 33 focus on the punishment.  God is clearly focused on the negative of the situation.  If He created humans then He has the power to shape them.  If humans are disobeying God, God is the one to blame.  He’s never made Himself known to the people.  He speaks only through Moses so there’s no clear reason to believe God exists if you are an Israelite.  Picture yourself as a common Israelite.  All you hear is Moses tell the people to do this, do that.  Give me your animals, give me your food, and give me your money.  The people are supposed to have faith in what Moses says.  It doesn’t take a genius to determine the people are going to be skeptical and have a hard time following all of the senseless rules.

Coming Soon:  Leviticus – Chapter 27:  Redeeming What Is the Lord’s

2 thoughts on “Leviticus – Chapter 26: Reward for Obedience

  1. I’m not sure about the last lines. Gimme all your money is what characters as Joel Osteen do, and people are not skeptical at all. Quite the contrary I’d say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

