Luke 11:9-10

Today’s crazy Bible verse comes straight from the lips of Jesus.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” – Luke 11:9-10

In these two verses Jesus makes it clear that our prayers will be answered.  All we have to do to receive help is ask.  I remember as a kid in Sunday School seeing other kids ask our teacher “why, if I pray to win the lottery, I don’t?”  The kids were asking as a joke, but now as an adult, it’s a serious question.  Jesus says we will receive if all we do is ask.  The counter-apologist argument is that God doesn’t work that way.  God only gives you what you truly need.  Okay, fine, but let’s look at a different pray.  “Dear God, please don’t let my daughter die of bone cancer.”  Does God answer?  Nope.  The daughter may survive, but only through modern medicine.  And what if the daughter dies?  Is God saying one didn’t need the daughter to live?  If so, that’s a crappy God.

So what to conclude from this?  Jesus and God do not exist, or Jesus is a liar.  Me?  I choose the former.

4 thoughts on “Luke 11:9-10

  1. Oh the power of the Christian prayer…..I’m just a heartbeat away from closing up my Facebook account forever for this very reason. So many of my ‘friends’ have a common connection about being prayer warriors and the most annoying thing is when they have sick children or dying parents, and the posts are as such: ‘Need prayers for John…he’s having his first chemo treatment.’ ‘My little Amy has the flu…prayers needed she recovers and feels better.’

    Then the lemmings respond: ‘Prayers sent’. ‘Praying’ ‘prayers on their way’

    Not ONCE do I ever see praise for the physician, surgical staff, nurses or medications, etc. for making sure a job gets done to save and/or heal their loved ones. I’ve held back from stating the obvious countless times. All praise and glory always goes to God, and never a whimper about anyone else.
    For me, I’d be hoping that the physician is on top of his game that day…that the medications work as they claim.

    I’m on the fence of being a deist and agnostic. It’s the religious and their clans of lemmings that irritate me. I love reading your blog. For many years growing up as a Catholic, turning over to Lutheran, flipping to Baptist in between, I tried and tried, but never understood the God of the Christian Bible to be a loving one. Your writings cement my feelings. I believe we are someone/thing’s creation, but we are not to know what that is. Until my dead grandmother comes and taps me on the shoulder and tells me, I just live my life and try to make the best of my decision making etc. And I will continue to question everything!

    Like

    1. Yeah, the FB prayer thing is ridiculous. I’ve hid several friends because I can’t stand their daily (sometimes several times per day) prayer posts. The “praying eagle” is my favorite. I read a meme the other day which included Obi-wan and Princess Leah. Went like this:

      Leah: Obi-wan…please, I need your help.

      Obi-wan: Sending thoughts and prayers.

      LOL! So true. Facebook praying is the Christian way of doing something to make them feel good without actually doing anything.

      Recently had a Co-worker go through a tough personal life issue. This person shared this on facebook and every single reply was “praying for you”. No one offered a meal or any real help of any kind. Disgusting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

