The Book of Mortals Trilogy

Several months ago at the local library I was looking for a new fantasy series to read.  After browsing for a good 20 minutes, I ran into Ted Dekker’s “The Book of Mortals” Trilogy.  What a mistake!  I admit that I somewhat enjoyed the first book and the first half of the second book.  Not once did I link the books to a Christian themed message.  Near the second half of the second book I thought it was resembling a bit of Jesus, but didn’t think too much of it.  I checked out the third book and it was very much about faith in a dead character and several messages of believing more.

WTF I thought?  What is going on here?  I looked back to the inside front covered and noticed one of the subject tags on the book was ‘Christian’.  Again, WTF?  Then I did some web searching and the truth was revealed.  This series was a Christian themed ‘fantasy’ series.  Ug.  The third book was horrible.  One of the worst books I’ve read in a long time.  As I already stated, the first book was okay, the second book was meh, but not horrible, but the third book was horrible if not beyond horrible.  DO NOT READ THIS TRILOGY!!!!

Leave a Reply

