Revelation 2:20-23

It’s crazy Bible verse Tuesday and I’m continuing to focus on the words of Jesus.  There’s a lot of crazy in the Old Testament, but it’s important to note that the crazy does not stop in the New Testament.  Here’s a bit from Jesus in Revelation.

“Nevertheless, I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophet. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols. I have given her time to repent of her immorality, but she is unwilling. So I will cast her on a bed of suffering, and I will make those who commit adultery with her suffer intensely, unless they repent of her ways. I will strike her children dead.” – Revelation 2:20-23

Let me put a little bit of context behind this.  In Revelation, Jesus is giving John a message that he writes down.  This particular message is given to John to be given to the church of Thyatira.

There’s several problems with these few verses.  First, Jezebel is supposedly distracting the men.  Really?  Can the men not control their urges?  Those men make their own choices.  If they are choosing to be sexually immoral and eating the wrong food, that is their choice.  Jezebel is not making them do this.  Second, Jesus/God is going punish Jezebel for the actions of the men?  I guess Jesus hates women too.  Third, Jesus/God is going to kill Jezebel’s children.  What the hell did her children do?  Her children are innocent!  Just like God, the Son of God, Jesus, is an immoral bastard who kills innocents.

3 thoughts on “Revelation 2:20-23

    1. When I was a church going Christian on a church leadership committee, it was discussed whether the church should have a 3-4 week series on Revelation. It was decided that the congregation was not ready for Revelation. LOL! Even as a Christian I found this attitude disturbing.

      Like

      1. heh. sounds like what happened in my folk’s church. the bible study never quite gets to Revelation. So I have had an entertaining time to tell them about it when they ask their atheist daughter questions about the bible. No, they never have read it either. But I have!

        Like

Leave a Reply

