Psalms – Chapter 91: A Prayer of Moses the Man of God

I finished up Deuteronomy last week, but before moving to the next book, there’s a chapter in Psalms that comes next in chronological order.  Psalms 91 brings us a prayer of Moses.

“I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress my God, in whom I trust.’” – Psalms 91:2

 

Why would you trust a god who promised you a land of flowing milk and honey, but then denied you said land?  Moses did more than any other Israelite, but didn’t reach the promised land.  Why trust this god?

“You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday.” – Psalms 91:5-6

Except you are required to fear the god that brings all of this.

If you say, ‘The Lord is my refuge,’ and you make the Most High your dwelling, no harm will overtake you, no disaster will come near your tent.” – Psalms 91:9-10

The Christian apologist response to bad things happening to people is usually that those people didn’t pray hard enough or believe in God hard enough.

“’Because he loves me,’ says the Lord, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.’” – Psalms 91:14

We have the example of Job and his family to point out the fallacy in this verse.

“He will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.” – Psalms 91:15

Except of course when he doesn’t.

Psalms 91 comes across as this sweet little story about how God loves you and will save you from harm and evil.  Yet if you actually read the Bible, God does the exact opposite of saving people.  He does nothing but bring evil at and harm the Israelites, including Moses.  So what to learn from this chapter?  God is a liar.

Coming Soon:  Joshua – Chapter 1:  Joshua Installed as Leader

Leave a Reply

