Judges – Chapter 17: Micah’s Idols

The story of Samson is over, thankfully, and now Judges moves on to a time of no judge.

“Now a man named Micah from the hill country of Ephraim said to his mother, ‘The eleven hundred shekels of silver that were taken from you and about which I heard you utter a curse—I have that silver with me; I took it.’ Then his mother said, ‘The Lord bless you, my son!’” – Judges 17:1-2

The initial stealing of the 1100 shekels of silver was not a good thing.  However, the message here is that stealing them back is a blessing by God.  Really?  One of the traditional ten commandments (I say traditional because there were actually several hundred commandments, not ten) says not to steal!  Now Micah is blessed?  Granted, God has not specifically said this is okay and Micah next has idols created so we’ll have to see how this plays out.  It does however, continue the theme of good times and bad times in Judges.  The time of Samson, the murderer and rapist, was a good time.  The time of Micah, who created idols, is bad time.  Not really seeing the distinction between good and bad times since Samson was considered a good leader.  According to the Bible, murder = good.

“Then Micah said to him, ‘Live with me and be my father and priest, and I’ll give you ten shekels of silver a year, your clothes and your food.’ So the Levite agreed to live with him, and the young man became like one of his sons to him. Then Micah installed the Levite, and the young man became his priest and lived in his house. And Micah said, ‘Now I know that the Lord will be good to me, since this Levite has become my priest.’” – Judges 17:10-13

That concludes Judges 17.  Not much to report in this chapter.  Micah is clearly breaking God’s laws, so we’ll just have so see how this plays out in the next chapter.

Coming Soon:  Judges – Chapter 18:  The Danites Settle in Laish

Leave a Reply

