Judges 16:17

For the fourth week in a row I’m pulling a verse from the story of Samson for Tuesday’s Crazy Bible Verse.  That’s how crazy the story of Samson is!  It warrants four, possibly more, weeks of crazy Bible verses to it.

“So he told her everything. ‘No razor has ever been used on my head’ he said, ‘because I have been a Nazirite dedicated to God from my mother’s womb. If my head were shaved, my strength would leave me, and I would become as weak as any other man.’” – Judges 16:17

There are a couple of crazy things to discuss here.  First of all, Samson’s strength is defined by his hair?  Are you kidding me?  What a load of anti-science!!!  Cutting someone’s hair makes them physically weak?  Ugh.

Second, let’s say for a second this is true and Samson truly does lose his strength when he loses his hair.  Why the hell then does he share this with Delilah.  The verses before this clearly show Delilah is going to run straight away to the people and reveal Samson’s secret.  He knows this!!!  Yet tells her anyway and ends up dead as a result.  Sigh.

Don’t blame Samson, however.  He’s only as smart as the supposed god that created him.

Leave a Reply

