1 Samuel – Chapter 21: David at Nob

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving (here in the U.S.) and are celebrating today just as Jesus intended by spending all day at Wal-Mart fighting to buy the latest ‘deal’ on cheap shit that will break a few days after being opened.  J  Speaking of Jesus/God/Holy Spirit/Asshole, let’s dig back into the Bible and pick up where we left off Wednesday.  On Wednesday I discussed 1 Samuel 20 in which we learned Saul is trying to kill David and Jonathan and absolutely sucks at throwing a spear short distances.  The focus of 1 Samuel 21 turns back to David.

“David answered Ahimelek the priest, “The king sent me on a mission and said to me, ‘No one is to know anything about the mission I am sending you on.’” – 1 Samuel 21:2

Um…that’s a lie!  We already know that David is God’s lackey, and God is okay with lying?

“But the priest answered David, ‘I don’t have any ordinary bread on hand; however, there is some consecrated bread here—provided the men have kept themselves from women.’” – 1 Samuel 21:4

Yeah, you don’t want to fuck up God’s bread by associating yourself with a woman.  Women do nothing but fuck up the good bread.  🙂

“David replied, ‘Indeed women have been kept from us, as usual whenever I set out. The men’s bodies are holy even on missions that are not holy. How much more so today!’” – 1 Samuel 21:5

OMG the misogyny is thick in this chapter!  Women do nothing but keep men unholy.  WOW!

“So he (David) pretended to be insane in their presence; and while he was in their hands he acted like a madman, making marks on the doors of the gate and letting saliva run down his beard.” – 1 Samuel 21:13

Um…okay.

“Am I so short of madmen that you have to bring this fellow here to carry on like this in front of me? Must this man come into my house?” – 1 Samuel 21:15

You can’t tell that he looks like David!!!

Sigh.  Another chapter in the Bible promoting misogyny.  A short chapter with several misogynistic verses.  Why does any woman support Christianity given what it says about women?

Coming Soon:  1 Samuel – Chapter 22:  David at Adullam and Mizpah

3 thoughts on “1 Samuel – Chapter 21: David at Nob

  1. I get a kick out of your take. My religious acquaintances think you are really messed up and need to just open your heart. They have been telling me the same shit for years and you help me respond with a lot less fuck you, you moron. I receive your posts via email. I’m not real savvy with computers and would like to share on Facebook. If possible, can you tell me how to do so? Keep spreading the truth. Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Also, I chuckle at the “open your heart” suggestion from your religious acquaintances. I did open my heart when I believed. Opening my heart led to a greater investigation into the Bible, which in turn led me to the truth, Atheism. I wish more people actually “opened their hearts”. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

