Psalms – Chapter 27: Of David.

In the last discussed chapter of the Bible, Psalms 7, David was singing praises to God.  David is claiming God is good and great, yet the killing of innocents in the Bible is evidence otherwise.  In Psalms 27, we see a continuation of this praise.

“The Lord is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear?” – Psalms 27:1

You should fear God as he randomly kills innocent people, including children and babies.  You should also fear God since God commands you to fear him.  All good leaders rule with fear, right?  Right?!?!

“One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.” – Psalms 27:4

You may end up in the house of the Lord, but chances are you will break one of God’s silly rules, such as not observing the correct number of “un-clean” days, or accidentally touching God’s stuff or eating his honey.  Those are actual rules in the Bible!  So good luck getting in God’s house!  You can be a good person your entire life and fail to enter for breaking a silly rule you had no idea existed.

“Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me…” – Psalms 27:6

Sure, exalted above your enemies on a pike because you accidentally pissed God off because God gets pissed off very easily!

“Do not hide your face from me do not turn your servant away in anger; you have been my helper.  Do not reject me or forsake me, God my Savior.” – Psalms 27:9

God shows his face to no one.  Supposedly he showed his face to Moses, but let’s face it, Moses simply found a great way to control the people!

“Though my father and mother forsake me, the Lord will receive me.” – Psalms 27:10

Just as Jesus commanded in the New Testament.  This is stated in Luke 12:53, among other verses.

“Teach me your way, Lord; lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors.” – Psalms 27:11

Teach you how to kill children and babies?  Teach you how to put down and rape women?  Does David know what he’s asking for?

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” – Psalms 27:14

That’s going to be a LOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNGGGGGG wait!!!

I’m not sure David understands what he’s asking for from God.  He’s asking God to teach him the evil ways in which God treats the people.  He’s asking for more death, destruction, rape, pillaging, burning, and poverty.  This is NOT a god of love!  This is a god of evil who revels in the suffering of others.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 31:  For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Leave a Reply

