Psalms – Chapter 31: For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Psalms 31 is another chapter in which David praises God.  If you haven’t figured it out by now, David is quite enamored with God as a true savior of the people.  He hasn’t paid much attention to the actual deeds/crimes God has committed.

“In you, Lord, I have taken refuge; let me never be put to shame; deliver me in your righteousness.” – Psalms 31:1

It’s not right to take over someone’s heart and force them to commit evil.  It’s not right to kill babies and children.  God is not righteous.  Saying it over and over, David, does not make it true.

“Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead and guide me.” – Psalms 31:3

That didn’t work for Job, who suffered great pain and lost his family as a result of God’s playdate with Satan.

“My life is consumed by anguish and my years by groaning; my strength fails because of my affliction, and my bones grow weak.” – Psalms 31:10

Is it possible you are getting weaker because you rely on an evil god to solve all your problems?  Get up and do something for yourself once in a while.  Stop expecting this evil god to protect you.  He’s just as likely to kill you as help you.

“Let your face shine on your servant; save me in your unfailing love.” – Psalms 31:16

This is the same ‘love’ that kills babies and children.  It’s the same ‘love’ that says it is okay to have slaves and rape women.

“How abundant are the good things that you have stored up for those who fear you, that you bestow in the sight of all, on those who take refuge in you.” – Psalms 31:19

Love does not require one to fear you.  A fear demanding god is not a loving god.

“Praise be to the Lord, for he showed me the wonders of his love when I was in a city under siege.” – Psalms 31:21

I’ve lost all respect for David.  It was one thing if he didn’t know that God’s love was evil, but knowing that God’s love includes the killing of innocents and you still praise the Lord?!?!  I’m done with you.

“Love the Lord, all his faithful people! The Lord preserves those who are true to him, but the proud he pays back in full.” – Psalms 31:23

Tell that to Job.  Job who was the most faithful, but lost his entire family to God.

That concludes Psalms 31.  David continues praising God even when he sees directly the harm God causes to innocent people.  David was coming across as a good guy in the Bible, but no longer.  If he can’t see the killing of innocents is evil, then he’s just as evil as the god he praises.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 34:  Of David. When he pretended to be insane before Abimelek, who drove him away, and he left.

Leave a Reply

