Psalms – Chapter 56: For the director of music. To the tune of “A Dove on Distant Oaks.” Of David. A miktam. When the Philistines had seized him in Gath.

A few more chapters in Psalms before we switch back to 1 Samuel.  Remember, I’m running through the Bible in chronological order.  Given several chapters of Psalms focus on David, there will be quite a bit of back and forth for quite some time.  Today I focus on Psalms 56.

“Be merciful to me, my God, for my enemies are in hot pursuit; all day long they press their attack.” – Psalms 56:1

Ah…it’s so cute of David to think this is a merciful God.  ROFL!

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” – Psalms 56:3

Why put your trust in God?  God is not going to take away your fear.  If fact, he demands your fear.  This has been stated many times in the Bible thus far.  God feeds off your fear.

“They conspire, they lurk, they watch my steps, hoping to take my life.” – Psalms 56:6

God is the one who has taken over Saul’s body and controlling it.  God is the one trying to take David’s life.

“…in God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me?” – Psalms 56:11

Again, David is trusted in a god who is causing all of this.  Saul doesn’t rule with evil if God does not first control Saul’s heart forcing him to commit evil.  David is placing his trust in the very being causing David this stress.

Psalms 56 shows us more of David praising God.  This wouldn’t be so bad if God was actually doing something to help David.  However, the exact opposite is true.  God is causing David to experience these troubles.  By controlling Saul’s heart, God is causing David to flee in an effort to save his life.  A loving god?  Nope!  A loving god does not do this.  A loving god loves you unconditionally.  This god applies condition after condition on his ‘creations’.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 120:  A song of ascents.

Leave a Reply

