Psalms – Chapter 141: A psalm of David.

I’m almost done with Psalms before moving back to 1 Samuel, I promise!  Just two chapters to go, counting this one.  As with the previous chapters in Psalms I’ve discussed thus far, David is praising God.  I’m not sure David does anything but praise God.  Not sure how he slayed a giant and avoided death by Saul with all of the praising by song he does!

“I call to you, Lord, come quickly to me; hear me when I call to you.” – Psalms 141:1

Sorry David, God is too busy killing, raping, and murdering.  Yes, I know, murdering is killing, but it was worth putting in two killing words to emphasize all the killing God does.

“Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil so that I take part in wicked deeds along with those who are evildoers…” – Psalms 141:4

Too late.  By accepting and following God, David has already let his heart be drawn to evil.

“Let the wicked fall into their own nets, while I pass by in safety.” – Psalms 141:10

Define wicked.  Is killing and raping wicked?  I think you know what I mean by this question.

Psalms 141 was a short, 10 verse, chapter in which David thinks God is good.  He seeks righteousness in God, assuming all of the evil is done by others.  David has no critical thinking skills.  He simply accepts what God is telling him without questioning.  The best advice I can give to anyone is to question everything!  Don’t be a non-thinking David.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 142:  A maskil of David. When he was in the cave. A prayer.

One thought on “Psalms – Chapter 141: A psalm of David.

Leave a Reply

