New Year’s Resolutions

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions.  Why wait for the first of the year to make a resolution?  What’s the point?  Isn’t any other day just as good?  However, if I had to suggest resolutions for someone to start today, I’d suggest the following:

  1. Question everything.
  2. Immerse yourself with science.
  3. Read the Bible. Yes, read the Bible.  Read it to inform yourself with what Christians, whether they’ve read the Bible or not (most haven’t), are trying to push in schools and governments.
  4. In relation to the above resolution, fight back. Don’t hide.  Fight for what is right!  Help protect those who are harmed by religion.
  5. Become a member of the Freedom From Religion Foundation (FFRF). This organization fights every day to protect your secular rights.  They make a true difference in this world!  I know for they helped me once!

It’s a new year.  If you didn’t like how 2016 went, then vow to make a difference this year.  Become involved.  You shouldn’t need the start of a new year to motivate you to become involved, but since this is the first day of the year, there’s no reason to not become involved if you haven’t already.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Dear poised atheist,

    Good resolutions. I have been reading your posts for some time now. Before I wrote my book, Women Beyond Belief: Discovering Live without Religion, I re-read the Bible and noted everything about women. It was an arduous and depressing task. My book is a compilation of essays of 22 women who tell their stories of leaving religion. It was published in October by Pitchstone. I received blurbs from Richard Dawkins, Sikivu Hutchinson, Valerie Tarico, Peter Boghossian and many others. The appendix is a summary of the subjugation of women in the Bible.

    I notice that sometimes you mention other blogs and podcasts. Would you be willing to do a guest post on my book? I would send you a short review with a quote unique to your blog.

    Just let me know.

    Thanks.

    Karen

    http://www.faithlessfeminist.com

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

