Ezekiel 3:1-3

It’s time for another Crazy Bible Verse Tuesday discussion!  The book of Ezekiel contains my favorite Bible verse, Ezekiel 23:20 (donkey balls), but it also contains many other good nuggets such as today’s verses.

“And he said to me, ‘Son of man, eat what is before you, eat this scroll; then go and speak to the people of Israel.’ So I opened my mouth, and he gave me the scroll to eat. Then he said to me, ‘Son of man, eat this scroll I am giving you and fill your stomach with it.’ So I ate it, and it tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth.” – Ezekiel 3:1-3

Where to start with these verse?  Which is the craziest?  Is it the part about God telling him to eat the scroll?  Is it the man actually eating the scroll?  Or is it the scroll tasting like honey?  I honestly can’t determine!

Some will say this is a metaphor.  Okay, I can buy that, but why?  Why is there a need for a metaphor here and isn’t there a better metaphor to use that doesn’t sound bat shit crazy?  That’s the problem with the Bible.  There is so much absurdity in it and so many metaphors that it is simply unbelievable to anyone who reads it with an open mind.

I leave you with this.  Go out and eat a honey tasting scroll.  Mmmm…yummy!

One thought on “Ezekiel 3:1-3

Leave a Reply

