Psalms – Chapter 16: A miktam of David.

Well, that was two chapters in a row in which David called non-believers fools and evildoers.  If by fool you mean a critical thinker, than fine, I’m a fool.  Will there be more attacks on non-believers in Psalms 16?  Let’s find out.

“I say to the Lord, ‘You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.’” – Psalms 16:2

I can think of a few.  Happiness.  Less murder.  Less raping.  Critical thinking.  No hardening of hearts.  Just to name a few.

“Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure.” – Psalms 16:5

Really?  Because the Israelites have never been secure in the Bible.

“The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.” – Psalms 16:6

David, you are a king, so of course you find it pleasant.  You have everything you could want.  Your slaves on the other hand…

“…because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay.” – Psalms 16:10

All people die and all corpses decay, David.  Even in biblical times one should know this.

Another short chapter in Psalms in which David praises God.  I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of this woe is me talk from David who is richer, as king, than everyone, yet complains life isn’t good enough.  Sigh.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 19:  For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Leave a Reply

