Psalms – Chapter 73: A psalm of Asaph.

After a few chapters checking out the genealogy of biblical times in 1 Chronicles, it’s time to switch back to Psalms.

“Surely God is good to Israel, to those who are pure in heart.” – Psalms 73:1

The second part of this verse is the key part.  Who is pure of heart?  Well, those God says are pure of heart!  How does God determine this?  Hard to tell.  Job was described as the best of the best, yet he was punished severely by God.

“Therefore pride is their necklace; they clothe themselves with violence.” – Psalms 73:6

No, that would be the god of the Bible.

“This is what the wicked are like—always free of care, they go on amassing wealth.” – Psalms 73:12

A perfect description of many Christians today, in particular those who are politicians in the U.S.

“Surely in vain I have kept my heart pure and have washed my hands in innocence.” – Psalms 73:13

Um…David…you’ve killed thousands!  You are not pure of heart!

“When I tried to understand all this, it troubled me deeply till I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood their final destiny.” – Psalms 73:16-17

If by final destiny you mean at the end of your blood stained sword, David, okay, I’ll buy that.

“How suddenly are they destroyed, completely swept away by terrors!” – Psalms 73:19

All those children swept away by God’s terrors.  And for what?  To satisfy God’s bloodlust.

“You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory.” – Psalms 73:24

God’s counsel to murder.  God’s counsel to rape and take multiple wives.  God’s counsel to destroy families.  Sounds like good morals to me.

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” – Psalms 73:26

If God is the strength of your heart than you have a cold, black, dead heart!

“Those who are far from you will perish; you destroy all who are unfaithful to you.” – Psalms 73:27

Well, to be fair, God destroys those who are faithful to him too.  Just ask Job.

To sum up this chapter, Psalms 73 is loaded with hypocrisy and flat out contradictions when compared with previous books/chapters.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 77:  For the director of music. For Jeduthun. Of Asaph. A psalm.

Leave a Reply

