Psalms – Chapter 88: A song. A psalm of the Sons of Korah. For the director of music. According to mahalath leannoth. A maskil of Heman the Ezrahite.

What horrible deeds will we praise God for today in Psalms 88?  Let’s find out!

“Lord, you are the God who saves me; day and night I cry out to you.” – Psalms 88:1

Saves you from what?  Happiness?

“You have put me in the lowest pit, in the darkest depths.” – Psalms 88:6

That’s probably true.  We’ve seen time and time again God punish those who have committed no wrong.

“You have taken from me my closest friends and have made me repulsive to them.” – Psalms 88:8

Yes, no argument from me on this.  God is not a kind being in the Bible.

“But I cry to you for help, Lord; in the morning my prayer comes before you.” – Psalms 88:13

If you are crying to God for help, you’ll be crying a long time.  We’ve seen time and time again prayers that are not answered.  This happens EVERY day in life.  Instead of praying, devote your time to seeking an actual solution.

“From my youth I have suffered and been close to death; I have borne your terrors and am in despair.” – Psalms 88:15

Well, God does punish children for the deeds of the ancestors.  God doesn’t hide this fact.

“You have taken from me friend and neighbor—darkness is my closest friend.” – Psalms 88:18

Embrace the darkness.  It will treat you far better than the god of the Bible.

In Psalms 88 David finally touches on the truth of the situation.  The god of the Bible, if existing as the Bible describes, is not a good and just god.  This god is an evil god.

Coming Soon:  Psalms – Chapter 92:  A psalm. A song. For the Sabbath day.

Leave a Reply

