Psalm – Chapter 62: For the director of music. For Jeduthun. A psalm of David.

David’s life is so tough.  God makes him king.  God gives him multiple wives and concubines.  God allows, and in many cases demands, David to rape and murder innocents.  But David continues to beg to God to help him more.  This is basically the theme of the book of Psalms.  That and a bunch of praising to God.  What will we see in this chapter?  Praising of God?  David begging?  Both?  Let’s find out.

“Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.” – Psalm 62:2

Again, is this rock a hardened heart?  😊

“Surely they intend to topple me from my lofty place; they take delight in lies.” – Psalm 62:4

You murder and rape!  Are you fucking kidding me?

“Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.” – Psalm 62:6

Do you know what is more rock-like than God?  An actual rock!!!  Rocks are more real than God too.  😊

“Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” – Psalm 62:8

Yes, trust in God when he tells you slavery is okay, some women deserve to be raped, and babies should be murdered.

“…and with you, Lord, is unfailing love…” – Psalm 62:11

Unfailing love, but conditions do apply.  That’s how the god of the Bible works.

So what happened in this chapter?  God was praised and David begged.  In other words, no different than every other chapter of the book of Psalms.

Coming Soon:  Psalm – Chapter 64:  For the director of music. A psalm of David.

Leave a Reply

